Tags

, , , ,

Note: since I posted this recipe on May 8th, I’ve revised this recipe by reducing the coconut oil (which made the waffle a bit too greasy) and changing the proportion of milk and yoghurt so the batter is thicker.

Who doesn’t love waffles! That is why I developed this recipe for my husband, who is Celiac and isn’t following the Lyme diet. I do have another waffle recipe on this site that is just as delicious and uses oat flour. However, some celiacs can still react to gluten free oat flour. Here’s a link to that recipe if you’d like to try it: https://squeezeoflyme.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/gluten-free-oat-waffles/.

While the following recipe uses white rice flour and some starches, it still avoids cow dairy, sugar and alcohol – and it’s totally gluten free. If you are just beginning Lyme treatment – or are on antibiotics and avoiding starches – however, you may want to save this recipe to try much later.

Although there is no buttermilk in these waffles, the goat milk, goat yoghurt and dried goat milk power lend a tangy flavour. Because of that, they can be eaten for breakfast with warmed fruit or, as my husband likes to eat them, for dinner slathered in gravy and peas.

I weighed my ingredients, so it’s best to use a scale if you have one. If you don’t own a scale, I’ve also added in measures of each ingredient by volume.

A note about ingredients used:

  1. The goat milk and goat yoghurt I used in this recipe add a tang that mimics buttermilk.
  2. The vanilla I use is the only one I’ve found that doesn’t use alcohol.
  3. I buy Bob’s Red Mill gluten free flours.
  4. Krisda is a sugar free substitute that contains Stevia – safer than comparable sugar free substitutes on the market. If you can find 100% Stevia and use it for this recipe, please let me know how it turns out!

This batch only makes 3 waffles, which I find is enough for the two of us. Plus, I didn’t want to mix up a bigger batch while I was testing the recipe! If you’d prefer to make more waffles, refer to the double batch at the end, which should make six. If you have extra left overs, you can always freeze them and reheat them in the toaster.

These waffles cook up crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside, as the following picture shows:

New GF Buttermilk Waffles 005_finIngredients:

  • 2.5 oz brown rice flour – (½ cup + 2 ½ teaspoons)
  • 1.5 oz white rice flour – (¼ cup + 1 ¾ teaspoons)
  • 1 oz tapioca starch – (3/8 cup + ½ teaspoon)
  • 3/4 oz potato starch – (1/8 cup)
  • 1/4 oz dry goat milk powder – (2 teaspoons); I use Hewitt’s Skim Milk Goat Powder
  • 1 Tablespoon Krisda sugar substitute
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ heaping teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil, cooled
  • ½ teaspoon alcohol-free vanilla (optional) – I use Frontier All Natural Vanilla Flavour
  • 3/8 cup cup goat milk – I use Hewitt’s 3.8%
  • 1/2 cup + 1/8 cup goat milk yogurt – I use Liberté 2.7% Goat Milk Yoghurt

Yield: 3 Waffles

Instructions:

Whisk the flour blend, Krisda, salt, and baking soda together in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, goat milk, goat yoghurt and melted coconut oil until combined. Slowly whisk the flour mixture into the wet mixture thoroughly until batter has thickened and no lumps remain, about 1 minute (batter will slightly thick).

I let the batter sit while I heated up my waffle iron; heat and cook yours according to the manufacturer’s directions. I have a Belgian-type waffle maker and used ¾ cup of batter for each waffle. I let it bubble a bit before closing the lid. Each one took 3 minutes in total to cook.

New GF Buttermilk Waffles 006_fin

3/4 cup of batter. Let it bubble a bit before closing lid.

New GF Buttermilk Waffles 007_fin

Presentation side of waffle

The above picture shows the bottom side of the waffle, which I flipped over to show the ‘presentation side’.

Double Batch – 6 Waffles

  • 5 oz brown rice flour – (1 cup + 5 teaspoons)
  • 3 oz white rice flour – (1/2 cup + 2.5 teaspoons)
  • 2 oz tapioca starch – (3/4 cup + 1 teaspoon)
  • 1 ½ oz potato starch – (1/4 cup)
  • 1/2 oz dry goat milk powder – (4 teaspoons); I use Hewitt’s Skim Milk Goat Powder
  • 2 Tablespoons Krisda sugar substitute
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ heaping teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 eggs
  • 6 tablespoons melted coconut oil, cooled
  • 1 teaspoon alcohol-free vanilla (optional) – I use Frontier All Natural Vanilla Flavour
  • 3/4 cup goat milk – I use Hewitt’s 3.8%
  • 1 1/4 cups goat milk yogurt – I use Liberté 2.7% Goat Milk Yoghurt

3 Servings.

Mock GF Waffles_Nutrition Facts

