Tags

, , ,

OK, maybe the title is a little melodramatic. Afterall, given a choice between having Lyme or getting better, I choose to get better. Mediclear Plus is a product recommended by many Lyme literate doctors and by naturopaths to aid Lyme patients in the detoxification process. It helps the liver which plays a major role in the detoxification of numerous substances in the body, whether they come from the environment, food, or from within the body (i.e. Lyme die-off).

MediClear is chock full of protein, vitamins, minerals, and special nutrients. MediClear Plus adds in curcumin, grape seed and green tea phytosomes — all valuable in the treatment of Lyme disease to help maintain the body’s normal inflammatory response.

It a great product. The only problem I have with this product (aside from the expense) is I hate the taste. And when I hate something, it’s hard for me to be compliant – even when it’s ‘good for me’.  My husband, on the other hand, loves the product. He doesn’t have Lyme disease, but is interested in detoxifying as he works with a lot of chemicals. He can drink it straight – no problem!

To help me with my ‘compliance’ issues, my husband bought me a Cuisinart 15-piece blender that we dedicate to blending up Mediclear smoothies. It’s definitely a handy gadget to have and takes up little space on the counter. As a bonus, we were able to buy it for practically nothing – using Canadian Tire points and a gift card (allowing us to pinch all our pennies toward treatment!).

Cuisinart 15 pc blender

For me personally, I think my problem with the taste is the pea protein; it just doesn’t tickle my tastebuds. So, along with my new blender, I’ve been getting creative in masking the flavour.

If you’re struggling with the same challenges, give these two recipes a try. And if you’ve developed your own MediClear Plus recipes, please send them my way. I’ll try them and, if they past muster, I’ll post them here with full credit!

Add all ingredients into blender and mix until smooth.

Banana Smoothie

I find this one doesn’t need any additional sweetener as the banana is pretty sweet already. Note that if you’re on antibiotics, banana’s may be off limits.

  • 1 small ripe banana
  • 8 to 10 oz. almond milk
  • 2 scoops Mediclear Plus
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie

I would personally freeze a can of pumpkin purée split into ice cube trays and then store the individual servings in an airtight container. You can take one out of the freezer when you need it; you’ll probably need to use the blade specifically made for crushing ice when you blend it up; the added bonus is that the shake will be cold.

  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin purée
  • ¼ teaspoon pumpkin spice mix
  • 8 to 10 oz. almond milk
  • 1/2 – 1 packet stevia to sweeten to taste
