Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I can’t stop baking. I guess it’s the onset of the cold weather that does that – or maybe it’s that slight jealous feeling close to the holidays that sometimes overtakes me when I feel like I’m being deprived of sweets on the Lyme diet. But I promise once baking is out of my system, I’ll get back to posting some main meals too!

You can use mini pans if you have them, but I find them frustrating to fill so I invested in some full size donut pans for this recipe. When I googled ‘donut pans’, I found that Sears had Wilton donut pans on sale, but when we went to the store we found they didn’t carry them. Disappointed, and not wanting to wait, I let my fingers do the walking and found them with a call to Bed Bath & Beyond. When we showed a print-off of the Sears price, the sales clerk not only honored it but she also let us use the store’s own 20% off coupon. Just the thought of being able to eat donuts again is priceless – and well worth the less than $20 that I paid for the pans!!!

donuts 001I was so ‘pumped’ about baking something with pumpkin that I accidentally grabbed the wrong can off the shelf. Make sure you check what you’re buying and get the PURE pumpkin without any additives.

I discovered my first batch of donuts had sugar in them only AFTER baking them; luckily I hadn’t dug in yet (hope you like the donuts, Mom!). Lesson learned: read every can or jar lable before you place it in the cart; even if you’ve bought it before without incident (ingredients can easily change).

As with all my recipes, these cake donuts are gluten free. They are unbelievably moist and fluffy for a gluten free product! Most gluten free baked goods tend to take on a leaden or crumbly consistency, but these take the cake (excuse the bad pun… I have Lyme).

donuts 008Yield: 8 – 10 donuts

  • 1/2 cup gluten free oat flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/2 cup gluten free sweet sorghum flour  (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp Stevia for baking (I used Krisda)
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons of pumpkin spice mix*
  • 2 large eggs (room temperature or soaked in warm water)
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin purée (make sure you don’t buy the premixed can with sugar!)
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened organic applesauce (room temperature)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil (liquefied in microwave)

*  If you don’t have pumpkin spice mix you can make your own using:

  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves

Preheat your oven to 350 F.

Remember that when working with coconut oil, all ingredients must be at room temperature (or oil will solidify again when it hits the cold ingredients).

Combine the first 7 ingredients (oat flour through to pumpkin spice mix) in a large bowl, mixing well. In another bowl, whisk the eggs together, then add the milk, pumpkin purée, applesauce and coconut. Whisk until well combined.

Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients and stir with a large spoon until just combined, being careful not to over mix (stop when you no longer see dry flour).

Spoon the batter into non-stick donut molds filling to just 1/8 inch below the top of each. I find spooning a messy procedure (it’s impossible to keep batter off the middle of the pan), so next time I may try putting the batter into a plastic bag, sniping the end and piping it around the middle to see if that helps keep the pan clean.

Bake 22 – 24 minutes (or 10-12 minutes if using a mini pan). They’ll be lightly golden brown around the edges and a toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Slide a thin plastic spatula around the edges of the donuts to help loosen them out. Then place on a cooling rack. These can be frozen and reheated… if they last that long!

* Note that if you are being treated for Lyme disease, this recipe should be reserved for later in your treatment protocol – and eaten in moderation. While the flour mix used in this recipe is more nutritious and has less carbs than typical all purpose ‘white’ GF flours, it will still convert to sugar in the body, which may cause inflammation in Lyme sufferers.

Based on 8 servings:

Pumpkin Spice Cake Donuts_Nutrition Facts

